New York State law regarding Child Support can be confusing to fully understand. Here are 5 Facts about New York Child Support that parents should be aware of.
1) Under New York State law, both parents must financially support their child until the child turns 21 years old. Whether the parents have been through a divorce or not, they are financially responsible for their child.
2) Child support also includes providing health insurance coverage until the child turns 21 years old.
3) If the child is emancipated, meaning they have been legally freed from your custody, parents don't have to support the child.
4) Even if the two parents are living together with the child, one parent can get a child support order if the other parent refuses to help pay for the child's bills.
5) Child support can be arranged by written agreement or by filing a support petition in Family Court for a court order. The two parents can sign a written agreement about how much child support will be paid.
If you are a non-custodial parent and owe child support you can get help by going to this link or contacting our firm.
It's always important to speak with an attorney regarding New York Child Support as every case may be different.
**This blog post is for informational purposes. Your specific circumstances may vary from the information provided. Every case is different. Prior results do not guarantee future outcomes. The contents contained in this post do not establish an attorney-client relationship. Please contact us before sending confidential or time-sensitive material**